Confederate Monument in Hemming Park, 1910s.

Confederate Monument in Hemming Park, 1910s.

Confederate Monument in Hemming Park, 1910s.

Name/Title

Confederate Monument in Hemming Park, 1910s.

Entry/Object ID

2003.001.012

Description

The most unchanged feature of the park is the Confederate Monument in the center. It was unveiled on June 16, 1898, during the reunion of the United Confederate Veterans. In 1899 the City Council officially changed the name to Hemming Park, as a memorial to Civil War veteran Confederate Monument in Hemming Park Charles C. Hemming, who had donated the monument to the city. T. Frederick Davis reported that during the 1901 Fire, the residents of Downtown piled their household goods at the base of the monument in hopes that they would escape the blaze. Unfortunately, these caught fire and "the cement at the base of the monument showed a reddened glow. The bronze soldier at the top stood firm amidst the withering torrent of fire about him." The monument stands today as one of the few remaining survivors of the Great Fire.

Collection

Chapin Photographic Collection

Lexicon

Nomenclature 4.0

Nomenclature Secondary Object Term

Print, Photographic

Nomenclature Primary Object Term

Photograph

Nomenclature Sub-Class

Graphic Documents

Nomenclature Class

Documentary Objects

Nomenclature Category

Category 08: Communication Objects