Name/Title
Riverside Park, 1920s.Entry/Object ID
2003.001.116Description
Riverside park, 1920s.
Set aside by John Murray Forbes when Riverside was first platted in 1868. This fourteen acre piece of land was not deeded to the City until 1893, when work began to develop this area into a park. Using mostly prison labor, the park was cleared and a sidewalk and carriage road were laid. Five spring-fed lakes wewre constructed (only one remains today) and by the summer of 1894 the landscaping was complete. The carriage road was closed in 1931.Collection
Chapin Photographic CollectionLexicon
Nomenclature 4.0
Nomenclature Secondary Object Term
Print, PhotographicNomenclature Primary Object Term
PhotographNomenclature Sub-Class
Graphic DocumentsNomenclature Class
Documentary ObjectsNomenclature Category
Category 08: Communication Objects