Name/Title
Print, PhotographicEntry/Object ID
1992.039.0013Description
B/W photograph originally under glass in a black frame. The photograph, glued to a mat board, is of a frame house with white picket fence and tree out front.
The current business at the 123 First Street address is "Bay Breeze".
The caption reads: "Built in 1868, serving as a private residence, then as a rooming house and restaurant for railroad men, "The Alamo Rooms" was a brothel during the 1940s and early 1950s. An upstairs room was provided with an invisible door for quick hiding. Today, the building houses a restaurant; an antique shop occupies the upstairs."
In 2008 Captain Blyther's Restaurant occupied the building and had for many years. In 2014 Sailor Jack's is the name of the restaurant occupying the space.Collection
Benicia Historical Museum CollectionMade/Created
Artist
Dublin, William Brooks M.D.