Print, Photographic

Name/Title

Print, Photographic

Entry/Object ID

1992.039.0011

Description

TwoB/W photographs in one black wood frame originally under glass. The photographs are glued on a mat board. The one on the left is an angled view of the side and front of the Benicia State Capitol with 2 columns in front of a brick building with 2 chimneys and 14 windows on side. The caption reads: "The above building was completed in 1852 for use as city hall. It served as the state capitol during 1853 and 1854, when Benicia was the (third) Capital of the State of California for a period of thirteen months. The building is now a State Historical Park." The photo on the right is of the front entry of State Capitol. The caption reads: "Chief Ranger James Phillips stands ready to serve visitors."

Collection

Benicia Historical Museum Collection

Made/Created

Artist

Dublin, William Brooks M.D.